Presentation Designs

In recent discussions of making presentations, it has been argued that it is much more effective to have less words, and more pictures. So, in a way, less is more. In a chapter by Garr Reynolds, he talks about how to use PowerPoint effectively, to where your audience will get the exact message you are trying to tell them, while also actually enjoying the presentation. Some elements that I already was aware of were the rule-of-thirds idea, where you only put a picture in the corner, in one third of the space. I also was aware that it is better to have mainly just pictures, and no words, because the audience will often times get bored with reading a long list of facts one after another. Some elements that I was not aware of however, were how he said that you don’t always have to fill empty space, because sometimes you can have too much going on in your presentations. Also, that contrast is really important because it can really set the tone of the presentation and determine how well your audience can see something.

I can incorporate this into my own work by consciously thinking about what I am putting into a slideshow, and how I want the audience to feel. I know now that I do not want to put just a list of facts on there, because the presentation needs to be memorable. So, I will stop using bullet points, and only put what is needed to help the audience understand what I am saying rather than have the PowerPoint basically just substitute for me and I just read it off to them. For my students, I will tell them that they need to do the same, and not just read from the presentation, because it is a supplemental tool for the audience, not for you. This goes along with my ISTE-standards as a teacher, because as an educator I have the job of teaching technology the right way. Over the years, my presentations have definitely not fit with this way of doing it; before, I have put lots of words on the slides, and used a minimal amount of pictures because I really had no idea how to incorporate that creativity into it.

Leave a Reply

